Contact Us | Services | Recent Successes

Improving the availability of inclusive mental health
services for all residents in Clay, Platte and Ray counties.

The Mental Health Board of Trustees Members

Members of the Clay, Platte, Ray Mental Health Board of Trustees represent all three Northland counties, as well as a wide range of interests and experiences. What they share in common is a passion for helping those with mental illness and their families, while exhibiting careful stewardship of all public resources entrusted to them.

Roger Milton Bruning, Ray County—Roger brings over three decades of experience in education as a high school teacher and coach to his work on the Mental Health Board of Trustees. A Ray County resident, Roger’s community involvement extends beyond the Board of Trustees. He is a member of the Orrick Senior Citizen Housing Board and the Orrick City Council.  Holder of a master’s degree in administration, he enjoys golf, travel, friends and, most of all, his grandsons. He enjoys his service with the Board of Trustees and says it has been a great learning experience about the many mental health agencies and issues that exist.

Sharon Callahan, Clay County, Treasurer—A Clay County resident since 1959, Sharon has been a real estate broker for 40 years. She served on the National Alliance on Mental Illness Kansas City Board of Directors for 12 years and is a founding board member Tri-County Mental Health Services. Sharon enjoys traveling, dancing, sports and time with family. She considers it a privilege to serve on this Mental Health Board of Trustees, values its impact and sees it as a critical component.

Sandra Ferguson, Platte County, Chair—Sandra earned her law degree from the University of Missouri at Kansas City School of Law. She practices at Ferguson & Ferguson Law, Kansas City.  She is past president of the Clay County Bar Association and a member of the Clay, Platte and Missouri bars. She is past vice chair of the North Kansas City Hospital Board of Trustees and was the City of Parkville Municipal Judge for 25 years. Sandra is a founder of Tri-County Mental Health Services and is a member of Soroptimist International of KC Northland.

Beverly Sue Ryan, Clay County – As the Clay County Public Administrator for 30 years, Beverly Sue has lead efforts for compassionate and professional care for those with illness or disability, not only locally but throughout Missouri. Her efforts became a model for many organizations statewide.

Ronald C. Thiewes, Clay County, Assistant Treasurer—Ron is a lawyer and certified public accountant, whose practice concentrates on representing taxpayers. He is the former Chairperson of the Professional Ethics Committee of the Missouri Society of CPAs and is the Mentor Coordinator for the Veterans Court of Clay County Circuit Court. He enjoys gardening, fish and game pursuits. "I am so impressed with the stewardship—the due diligence, scrutiny, review and analysis of expenditures—exercised by the Levy Board over the taxpayer’s funds."

Staff: Haley L. Eisler, Board Administrator

The Clay, Platte, Ray Mental Health Board of Trustees
3100 NE 83rd Street, #2700, Kansas City, MO 64119 • (816) 468-1772 •
website questions: